Legislators attend 4th Quarter EIPRC Board Meeting

State Legislators and EIRPC's Executive Committee members

On Thursday, October 26, 2023, at 11:30 a.m., the Eastern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (EIRPC) held its 4th quarter Board of Directors meeting, which included its annual Legislative Reception.  The event was held in Henry County at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in New Castle (Henry County).

This reception gave our board members and state legislators an opportunity to meet each other. Many EIRPC board members are new to their position this year and would otherwise not have the opportunity to meet with their state official face to face. After an abbreviated board meeting, a forum was held with four of the region’s state legislators to give an update on the status of BEAD funding and discuss with our board issues related to this topic.

EIRPC is comprised of a 36-member board of directors representing the six-county region of Fayette, Henry, Randolph, Rush, Union, and Wayne counties.  Most members are elected officials from their county board of commissioners, county or town council, and city mayors.  Community leaders and economic development staff are also part of the organization.  Details on EIRPC can be found at easternindianarpc.com website.

Of the eight seats that have jurisdiction within EIRPC’s six-county region, the following Indiana Senate and Indiana House of Representative elected officials attended this event:

Indiana Senate:                                     Indiana House of Representatives:

Jeff Raatz, District 27                                Cory Criswell, District 54

Jean Leising, District 42                           Dr. Brad Barrett, District 56

[Indiana’s U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representative officials have also been invited.  Due to Congress being in-session, they could not attend.  However, Congressman Jim Banks, IN-03, did send his Senior Advisor, Chris Crabtree.]

Board meetings are open to the public; advanced reservations are required.  For additional information, please call Gertrud Whitaker at (513) 325-6351.

Previous Post
Regional Robotics Scrimmage